Posted by: kathandroger | May 28, 2017

May made Hay

It was not so long ago that we were cursing the continued cold weather. How things have changed. The last week has seen temperatures in the low thirties and clear skies. Summer seems to be here at last and even the swimming pool heater has not been needed with the water at 28 degrees. The flowers are blooming and we are having to water the garden every evening. We have started on our new potatoes and the first peas are nearly ready. Various bugs seem to appear everywhere and I found this little chap yesterday.IMG_3747I have no idea what it is but am glad it is only tiny!

The good weather has meant that the grass has grown rapidly after the wet weeks and the farmers have all been making hay. We need about eighty bales for our sheep and I told Manu, our neighbour and farming friend to give me a shout when he was baling. He arrived at the house this afternoon to tell us our bales were waiting to be picked up from the field and to get a move on because he reckoned we were going to have a storm. I had to drag the wife away from cleaning the kitchen, hitched up the trailer and we were off to get the winter feed for the animals. It all sounds idyllic, but in 34 degrees of full sunshine and several trips to load and unload our small trailer, it was more perspiration than pleasure. I have never had hay made in May before, but it is reckoned that the earlier the crop is made the more nutritious it is, so our sheep should be in wonderful condition in the spring.IMG_3754The farm girl was up to the task and we soon had our bales stacked in the barn. There is nothing like the smell of new made hay, I love it.

The local crops are all doing well in the sunshine. On our weekly cycle with the club we pass lots of different farms and I love to see how the different produce is doing. We have a retired farmer in our group, and I am continually asking him about the merits of various plants. He is a bit faster than me up the hills, so I try and reserve my questions until we are both getting a bit puffed. My questions are short, but his answers are usually shorter! There is a lot more linseed this year, and I had to go back to photograph this field with the poppies.IMG_3748The colours of nature never cease to amaze me. We have had a lovely May.


Responses

  1. Your beetle is the Lesser Capricorn Cerambyx scopolii (Fr. Petite capricorne).

    There is a lot of spelt and/or einkhorn (I don’t know how to tell the difference) this year, and even some lupin. It must be at least partly because of the new three crop rotation rule.

    • Thanks as usual for your boundless knowledge Susan! I had hoped you would name the little beast as I could not find it in my research. All the Best, Roger.


Leave a Reply

Categories

