Posted by: kathandroger | February 19, 2012

Frogs on the left.

We had our annual cycling club luncheon today. A good do, although in the musty back room of a nearby hotel, which some of the locals remember as a  hotspot for dancing when they were young. The meal ambled along over several hours, and as a keen observer of my fellow humans, I suddenly noticed that all the French men part their hair on the left side. Some of them have extra wide shiny partings, granted, but those with a good old Barnet Fair are all gauchists. My hair is parted on the right side, and on looking at some photos of English chums they seem to too. I think my dad told me that the left side is only for girls.

Anyway, have I stumbled upon another inbred difference between us and my new compatriots? Incidentally it appears that the French don’t have a word for “parting” of the hair-is that significant as well? Further research will be done.


Responses

  1. Roger, I was informed by my wigchopper in the UK that it is a British ‘thing’ to part on the left [right if you look in the mirror]! The natural parting for humans is somewhere on the right hand side of centre. Mine parts on the left and, like my father’s, I have terrible trouble with a crest near the back where the ‘un-natural’ parting can’t cope with hair direction.
    I have tried combing it the other way, but can’t get used to it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

