Posted by: kathandroger | November 8, 2009

Great chicken supper!

It was worth all the effort – she tasted fabulous! As we noted when preparing her, she was pretty fatty which added to the flavour. And she was huge – we both eat well and there was easily enough for 4, if not 5 or 6. Boudie enjoyed her huge bowl of left overs!

Then we had another two to kill and prepare – this is becoming something of a regular evening event in our household. I definitely enjoyed this less than the first time. I had our ‘cou nu’ cockerel who was had developed some fairly impressive feathers and was not easy to pluck. As I gradually removed the feathers I noticed that he was covered in small mites. Not being a fan of small mites I became less and less keen to clean him and actually didn’t even want touch him any more. I got all the feathers off, but I’m afraid to say Roger had to gut him. We have 2 more chickens and 3 guinea fowl to go…  I am not really looking forward to it. The idea of buying a prepared chicken form the market suddenly seems very attractive!


Leave a Reply

Categories

